Board of Studies, Teaching and Educational Standards news

icon Subscribe by email

Enter your details to receive the weekly BOSTES Bulletin e-zine. Privacy Policy

twitter icon Follow us on


Media releases icon Media releases

Review all media releases.

Media enquiries icon Media inquiries

These contact numbers are for journalists only. Students, teachers and other members of the public should refer to the Contact Us page for the most relevant contact for their enquiry.

Thursday, 11 Feb 2016

Amendment to the existing Stage 6 Information and Digital Technology Curriculum Framework Syllabus for 2016

BOSTES 15/16

Who needs to read this notice:
VET coordinators
RTO managers
TVET coordinators
Information and Digital Technology teachers

A new national ICT Information and Communications Training Package was released on 25 March 2015. The current Stage 6 Information and Digital Technology Curriculum Framework (approved 2012) is based on the now-superseded ICA11v2 Training Package (referred to as the ‘old’ Framework).

Registered Training Organisations (RTOs) and their students completing the Information and Digital Technology (240 indicative hours) course from the ‘old’ Framework in 2016 have the option of meeting HSC course requirements, including coverage of the HSC focus areas (HSC Content), through equivalent units of competency and qualifications from the new Training Package.

Students who achieve ICT units of competency would be eligible for an ICT qualification. They will also be eligible to sit for the Information and Digital Technology HSC examination in 2016 and count the results from their examination towards their Australian Tertiary Admission Rank (ATAR).

Schools and colleges should consult with their school system and/or RTO regarding delivery of courses from the ‘old’ Framework for their students continuing study in 2016.

The HSC examination in 2016 will be based on the HSC Content (focus areas) and Certificate III employability skills from the ‘old’ Framework – refer to Section 3 of the syllabus for further details. The HSC examination specifications, which describe the format of the examination, are contained in the Assessment and Reporting in Information and Digital Technology Stage 6 document for the 2016 HSC examination.

For more information, contact:
VET team
(02) 9367 8310